52 Visa-Free, Visa-on-Arrival, e-Visa Countries for Nigerians in 2020

Some 52 countries are easier to access for Nigerians in 2020. They vary from being outrightly Visa-free to offering Visa applications over the internet (e-Visa) or Visa on arrival at the Point of Entry.

This article presumes a Nigerian (or those with other nationalities who choose to) travel/travelling specifically on a Nigerian passport for tourism or business visits only.

There may be other requirements to gain entry to most countries, irrespective of the easier visa requirements. These vary by country and could include:

  • a Passport that is valid for the duration of the trip or even valid for up to 6-months after the trip, some countries require the Passport to have at least 2 blank pages;
  • visa fees (where they are not free-of-charge) may only be payable in US Dollars and/or in Cash;
  • a valid inoculation card (also known as Yellow Card) that proves that the traveller has been immunized against certain communicable diseases;
  • a confirmed onward/return travel ticket to prove the traveller has the intention to leave after the visit;
  • proof of sufficient funds – these could be in the form of cash or credit cards;
  • a confirmed hotel booking or an invitation letter from a local individual or company.

There may be some additional requirements when travelling with children.

23 Visa-Free Countries for Nigerians

This implies that there is absolutely no visa requirement for Nigerian Passport holders. You can simply show up at the official Point of Entry (land border, international airport, or seaport) to request entry with your Nigerian passport provided other conditions are met.

Other conditions may apply, as listed earlier.

Being Visa-Free does not confer you a right of entry to any country. It is only a privilege. It is still up to the Immigration Officer at the POE to approve your entry provided they are satisfied you will not constitute a security risk nor a nuisance to the interests of the country.

ECOWAS countries

Nigerians can visit any of the 14 other member states of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), for up to 90 days, visa-free:

  1. Benin Republic
  2. Burkina Faso
  3. Cape Verde
  4. Côte d’Ivoire
  5. Ghana
  6. Guinea
  7. Guinea Bissau
  8. Liberia
  9. Mali
  10. Niger Republic
  11. Senegal
  12. Sierra Leone
  13. The Gambia
  14. Togo

The Immigration Officer at the Point of Entry will question your motive for visiting their country. They may ask how long you wish to stay and have the discretion to authorize your stay for less than the statutory 90 days.

Other Neighbours

Some two other countries that are not members of the ECOWAS bloc are accessible to Nigerians Visa-Free. These are:

  1. Cameroon (for up to 90 days)
  2. Chad (for up to 3 months)

Other Visa-Free Countries

The only other countries that are Visa-Free to Nigerians are far-flung locations that are very difficult to access from Nigeria.

They all require very long flights with one or more stopovers or flight changes where total travel time can be up to 48 hours; sometimes through countries that require visas from Nigerians like the US, UK, EU countries, Australia, New Zealand etc. The flight costs can range from N800,000 to as much as N2.8 million as of January 2020.

The countries are:

  1. Barbados (up to 6 months)
  2. Dominica (up to 6 months)
  3. Fiji (up to 4 months)
  4. Haiti (up to 3 months)
  5. Micronesia (up to 30 days)
  6. Saint Kitts and Nevis (up to 3 months)
  7. Vanuatu (up to 30 days)

12 Visa on Arrival Countries


These are countries that issue Visas on arrival to Nigerian Passport Holders.

This only means you may proceed to the Point of Entry without procuring a visa ahead of your travel. There may be other entry requirements aside from the Visa fees, as listed earlier. Visitors not holding return/onward tickets could be refused entry.

  1. Comoros: up to 45 days
  2. Mauritania: available at Nouakchott–Oumtounsy International Airport.
  3. Mauritius: a maximum stay of 2 weeks; you must hold proof of sufficient funds to cover your stay (a minimum of USD 100 per day) and a confirmed hotel booking.
  4. Mozambique: available at these airports Beira (BEW), Nampula (APL), Maputo (MPM), Pemba (POL), Tete (TET) and Vilankulo (VNX) for a maximum stay of 30 days.
  5. Namibia: available at Hosea Kutako International airport (WDH) for a maximum stay of 3 months.
  6. Somalia: available at Bosaso (BSA), Galcaio (GLK), Garowe (GGR), Kisimayu (KMU) and Mogadishu (MGQ) for a maximum stay of 30 days.
  7. Timor-Leste: up to 30 days.
  8. Tuvalu: up to 1 month.
  9. Samoa: Free Entry Permit on arrival for up to 60 days
  10. Maldives: Free visa on arrival for up to 30 days
  11. Palau: Free visa on arrival for up to 30 days
  12. Seychelles: Free Visitor’s Permit on arrival for up to 3 months

7 e-Visa or Visa or Arrival countries

While these countries offer the option between an e-Visa or Visa on Arrival, it may be a good idea to apply for the e-Visa before travelling.

  1. Cambodia: e-Visa before travelling at or a visa on arrival for a maximum stay of 30 days.
  2. Iran: Nigerian tourists can obtain a visa on arrival at Ahwaz (AWZ), Bandar Abbas (BND), Esfahan (IFN), Gheshm Island (GSM), Kish Island (KIH), Lar (LRR), Mashhad (MHD), Shiraz (SYZ), Tabriz (TBZ) and Tehran Imam Khomeini (IKA) for a maximum stay of 30 days. Nigerians on business can obtain a visa on arrival for a maximum stay of 14 days if holding an invitation letter issued by a government agency. The invitation letter must be issued at least 2 days before the arrival date. All foreigners entering Iran must report to the police within 8 days after arrival. Reporters, journalists, photographers and cameramen of any nationality other than Iranian require a visa.
    E-visas can be obtained before departure at . Passengers must have a printed e-visa application submission notice.
  3. Ethiopia: e-Visa before travelling at or a visa on arrival at Addis Ababa (ADD) for a maximum stay of 3 months.
  4. Kenya: e-Visa before travelling at or a visa on arrival for a maximum stay of 3 months.
  5. Madagascar: e-Visa before travelling at or a visa on arrival for a maximum stay of 90 days.
  6. Rwanda: e-Visa before travelling at or a visa on arrival for a maximum stay of 30 days.
  7. Uganda: e-Visa before travelling at or a visa on arrival

10 e-Visa Countries

Some countries prefer you to apply for their Visa via the internet before you show up at their Point of Entry.

You need to apply for the visa directly on the official Government Immigration website and wait for the outcome before travelling. You then travel with the printed e-Visa confirmation if it is approved. You also need to carry proof of meeting other entry requirements, as explained earlier.

  1. Antigua and Barbuda:
  2. Djibouti:
  3. Gabon:
  4. Kyrgyzstan:
  5. Lesotho:
  6. Qatar:
  7. São Tomé and Príncipe:
  8. Suriname:
  9. Zambia:
  10. Zimbabwe:

The above information is based on my extensive research. Should you have corrections or questions, feel free to share them in the comments section.

See also: Countries Nigerian Passport Holders can visit with existing US / UK / EU / Canadian Visas

One reply on “52 Visa-Free, Visa-on-Arrival, e-Visa Countries for Nigerians in 2020”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.